13 Jun, 2013

REC elects new council members

13 Jun, 2013

Members of the Recruitment and Employment Confederation (REC) and Institute of Recruitment Professionals (IRP) voted online, via post and in person at today’s AGM to elect nine new directors to the REC’s council.

The new corporate directors who join the REC council following today’s election are:
• Jeanette Barrowcliffe, Meridian
• Katy Forsyth, Red Recruitment
• Diane Martyn, Staffline
• Christopher Moore, Adecco
• Sarah Thewlis, Thewlis Graham

The individual directors voted onto the REC council are:
• Susie Ankrett, Plum Personnel (re-elected)
• Michael Bennett, Rethink
• Marshall Evans, Staffline
• Neeti Gupta, BD Consult

This was the third year in which the REC invited members to vote online and 1,131 votes were cast.

Commenting, REC chairman Neil Smith said:
“It was fantastic to have 22 members put themselves forward to take on a leadership role at the REC. Those elected today by their peers are an absolutely brilliant group of business people with a huge range of experience between them. It’s the strength and energy of our membership that is forever spurring us on to achieve more for our profession. I look forward to working with our new council members to drive forward the REC and our industry to ever greater success.”

The annual event, held at the REC offices in London, also saw two recruiters awarded Honorary Fellowships of the IRP:

• Jonathan Lee, Jonathan Lee Recruitment
• David McArthur, Department for Work and Pensions

Speaking after the awards presentation, REC chief executive Kevin Green said:
“Our Honorary Fellowships acknowledge long-term commitment to excellence within recruitment. It’s very special for the REC, and a privilege for me personally, to recognise Jonathan and David for their outstanding contribution to the profession.”
Credit: rec.uk.com